Facebook ‘Naked Video’ scam hits 2 million users

12:00 ET, 11 March 2014

Security Experts at Bitdefender discovered a clickjacking Naked Video scam that already infected more that 2 millions Facebook users.

Sex and social media is a dangerous mix abused by cyber criminals to hit a large number of users of most popular social networks. In the last couple of years the number of illicit activities on the social networks is sensibly increased, malware based attacks and phishing are the most common type of attacks. A new clickjacking scam campaign is causing serious problems to Facebook users, attackers are spamming Facebook timeline with a friend’s picture with the message

See (Friend)’s naked video,”

or

“(Friend Name’s) Private Video.

f1

The attackers try to lure victims with the picture that appears to be uploaded by a friend, this is enough to convince victims to click to see their friend naked.

“The latest attempts by hackers to infiltrate your computer feeds off of voyeuristic curiosity many have regarding their friends on Facebook.”wltx reports.

Malware used for the campaign takes advantage of the fact that victims trust their friends. Once clicked on the image the victim is redirected to a malicious website which informs the visitor that his Flash Player is not correctly working and needs to be re-installed.

“When the link is clicked, users are sent to a very realistic-looking mockup of a YouTube page, where the hackers will try to immediately install the Malware Trojan.”

The trick allows to the cyber criminals to install a malware on the victim’s PC, the malicious code also installs a malicious browser extension to spread the scam and steal users’ pictures.

The alarming aspect of the scam is that more than 2 million Facebook users are already infected also flooding their friend’s timeline with the same misleading image. Clicking on the message the malicious code automatically publishes the link on the victims Facebook wall to deceive also his friends.

“International anti-virus company Bitdefender reports that the Malware, “Trojan.FakeFlash.A,” jumps into the user’s web browser as an extension, and then accesses your own photos posted to Facebook, and pushing a new fake advertisement to YOUR friends, claiming they can see a naked video of you.”

To reduce risk of infection, install defense software and keep your systems updated, is also important to be aware of cyber threats and to adopt an appropriated conduct.

You have been warned … be wary of links like the one mentioned in this post.

Pierluigi Paganini

(Editor-In-Chief, CDM)

rsa-logo

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons